h1

SLC to host Elizabeth Cortez: Senior Exhibition and Franciscan Values Exhibits

January 7, 2011

Silver Lake College invites the public to attend the art exhibit, Elizabeth Cortez: Senior Exhibition. The exhibit, which features works of art Ms. Cortez completed as a studio art major at SLC, will appear in the art hallway from January 17-February 7, 2011.   A free and open to the public reception will be held on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 from 4:00 -6:00 p.m.

During her time at SLC, Ms. Cortez was awarded the Donna Dart Memorial Art Scholarship and the Silver Lake Art Department Scholarship.  Her photography has been published in Photography Vibes Best of Edition, Collected Impressions: The International Congress of Photography, and Silver Reflections, the Silver Lake College Literary Magazine.

Ms. Cortez says, “I developed an interest in art by the second grade.  My parents recognized my ability to draw in many of the booklets I had done in Mrs. Kester’s class, such as a book I called, “The Me Book.”  She continued to take many art classes in middle school and high school. Her current art is inspired by nature and her reverence for God as Creator.  She says, “As I see each detail in God’s creations, I aspire to be an imitator of the Master Artist.  Every detail I see causes me to stop and take a closer look.”

The exhibit is open to the public from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Thursday: from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Friday and from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Saturday.

